Internship of a Lifetime!

IMG_1716When you look for your first internship you’re always a little nervous about choosing a company to work for especially when you know nothing besides your classroom setting. For me, the best internships are the ones where you expand your knowledge and when you are able to make a difference in the company.  And with Aleuro Inc I did both.

Before coming into this company  I was a Junior about to graduate at Texas State University with no internships and in the world of advertising that meant no future.  When I met Aleuro Inc at the career fair at Texas State University, I was unfamiliar with the organization but intrigued that they were offering a major that would be a great addition to my classes this semester.

After two interviews, I received an e-mail that I got the internship for the Public Relations/ Advertisement Internship and all of a sudden my confidence gave me the courage to try for more.  Subsequently, I landed an internship at Texas Monthly and I got into a National Student Advertising Competition.  Interning at Aleuro Inc was probably the best thing that could have ever happened to me.

Since Aleuro Inc was such a small business I had access to things my other peers at Texas State didn’t.  My friends would talk about how all they did wasAIflyer1 “grunt” work, but for me I was able to post anything I wanted to their social media feeds and change up their blog to look more professional.  Whenever I had ideas or opinions they were heard and regarded, which helped them change their website and logo to what it is today.  Working here was like felt like I owned my own ad agency and I was advertising for them.

I made flyers, brochures, videos for YouTube, and updated all of their social media sites.  Working here I felt like I made a difference, but I also learned so much in return.

“What makes this industry unique for anyone wanting an internship is that as Aleuro Inc changed, I changed right along with them.”

I’m so happy to have been given the opportunity to work with this amazing group of individuals and for anyone looking for a job no matter what you majored in or if you just finished high school I would recommend this company to anyone with an open mind ready to learn, and grow.

Leave a Reply

